How long does it take to get down to 'normal' levels?

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnarob

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi Andy

How long does it take to get down to normal levels? I was only diagnosed last Monday and my readings are a bit erratic at the moment! I have been strict this last month and I'm gradually finding out what spikes my bg level.

If you have high bg levels, does that automatically mean that your cholesterol and bp are going to high too. My doctor hasn't mentioned any of my other blood test results, do you think she would have mentioned it last week?

Sorry about all the questions, you can tell I'm a newbie!

Donna xxx

Hi Donna, I'm afraid there is no easy answer to this! Everything will depend on how well your dietary and lifestyle modifications, plus any medication, are working for you. It's actually advisable not to try to do things too quickly as this can be a bit of a shock to the body after being used to high levels for a while before diagnosis, so don't think that you have to achieve everything overnight - it may take weeks to gradually bring your levels into range and there will always be times when you get an unexpected high reading. Many people find that adapting over a period of maybe 6 months allows them time to learn how best to manage their diabetes and change to habits that will stay with you rather than the 'crash diet' approach which may leave you disilusioned and unmotivated to keep up.

As for cholesterol and blood pressure, these should both be helped by diet and activity level changes. The fitter and healthier you are generally, the better these readings should be. It would be worth getting the diagnosis numbers for these so you have a guideline to how you are doing.

Don't worry about asking questions - that's why we're here! 🙂

Hi Donna, I've moved your post into a thread on its own.

I assume that you're diet and exercise controlled only at the moment?