How does walking help my blood glucose levels (dumb question??)

Status
Not open for further replies.

zippyjojo

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 3c
Hi there - as a Newbie I just wondered if someone could explain to me how walking will affect my blood glucose levels. I know that it does and fortunately I love walking and having recovered well from my huge op in November I'm now back to be able to walk 5-6 miles in a go. But I'd like to know WHY it's a good idea diabetes wise for those days when it's much more tempting to stay inside and watch telly. Thanks in advance. Jo 🙂

It's one kind of exercise. Since we're almost always walking outside, and perhaps somewhere with grass and trees and things there's likely some additional psychological effects (that you wouldn't get from walking on a treadmill, say).

Exercise makes you less insulin resistant so helps your body to use the glucose in your blood, because you are exercising you will need that glucose for energy.

Although I believe that anaerobic exercise is more likely to make blood sugars go up, I can’t remember why though!

Walking makes my daughter’s blood sugars drop like a stone so that’s a good one if you need a bit of extra help to get them down.

I'm glad you asked that question @zippyjojo as I've been wondering why too. I cover between 5 and 10 miles a day in good weather (only 3 - 5 in the rain!)

@grovesy, what a shame housework is good for you, it would be a great excuse not to do it! I love mowing the lawn, not because I enjoy it but it adds 3k steps to my fitbit if I do both front and back 😉

Its not a dumb question @zippyjojo . All exercise and activity helps your BG.

During anaerobic or very intense activity your body thinks you are in "fight or flight mode" and need the adrenaline boost to get you out of trouble.