How does illness affect diabetes?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pawprint91

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Pronouns
She/Her
Another early days question ... what happens to us when we get ill (even with something as simple as a cold)?

I was given a bit of advice on what to do if I feel unwell (check ketones as well as bg) which is totally fine for the short term. However, I am a primary school teacher so know in the future I am inevitably going to come down with viruses etc.

I know everyone is different, but I was wondering if anyone could give me advice on just how off kilter you can be when you are ill with a virus/infection.

Thank you!

I’m type 1 and if I have an infection or vomiting I can easily end up in hospital as my blood sugars get high and I have ketones. Sometimes I can manage at home, but I’ve had to go to A&E on occasions.

I’ve never had too much of a problem with normal coughs and colds, sometimes my Blood Glucose goes up a bit, sometimes it doesn’t, and a temporary increase in basal insulin has sorted it out. The interesting thing is, if I am going down with something, it’ll show in my blood glucose 24 hours before I start feeling other symptoms, one day I’ll have unexpectedly higher levels and think, what?? And the next day I'll start with a scratchy throat or something and think, ah, that’s what it was about.
Another thing, it’s not just viruses etc that put the blood sugars up, I fell off a horse a couple of years ago and damaged some ribs, and was propped up on pain killers for a few days, and my blood sugars were all over the place until it started settling.

Is it generally ~okay to have temporarily unstable blood sugars, as long as you know what might be causing it?

Is it generally ~okay to have temporarily unstable blood sugars, as long as you know what might be causing it?