How do you get approved for a pump?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meli

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi, I am new here, just joined today and really glad I have found this site.
I am a 42 year old teacher and developed Type 1 diabetes when I was 37. It's been a long journey as initially I was told it was type 2. To cut a long story short for last 3 years I have relied soely on the basal bolas system of injecting. I have an average HBa1C of around 9. My Doctor thought a pump would be good for me and transferred my care to a local hospital. Initially it all seemed hopeful, I attended the pump clinic ( and still do ) I was given a new testing kit Accu Chek Aviva Expert, which is great and I know know how to carb count etc. Now the nurse and consultant seem to be putting me off a pump and telling me not to go for it. They say it won't help me? I really dont understand why, when I read so many great things about it. I will do anything to improve my levels. Does anyone think it's down to budget or am I too old? I love to hear others opinions, where am I going wrong? They still however want me to make my appointments in the pump clinc??????
Thanks for listening,
Meli

Hi Meli, I wouldnt let anybody take my pump away from me. Keep at the doctors & team ! Nothings perfect but i think they are the best after 46yrs of T1. Good luck & keep us informed 😉

Hi Meli,
if you can carb count and use the meter ok then go for a pump. Do remember though the pump is only as good as the user. IE, you only get out of it what you put in.
You are never to old 🙂 As Alan says have a read of the INPUT site. If a pump is recomended then your PCT can not turn down funding.
If you want a pump do not take no for an answer.

Ps welcome to the forum. 🙂

Thanks everyone for your quick responses opinions and ideas. Xx I have my next appointment on Wednesday morning so I will go armed with more questions and now I have some, facts. They seem to make it so difficult.:confused: