Hormones! Women help! Men may want to look away.

Status
Not open for further replies.

CosmicHedgehog

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
So i have been having problems with hormones for the last few years.. It seems to be getting worse as i'm getting older. I have an imbalance and was told my testosterone was slightly high and female hormones were a bit low... This has caused acne (started when i was 30)I'm now 36. I have this Horrible hormonal acne, the cystic type so can't be attacked with topical treatments. So feeling down about that as i had always had clear skin :( Hormones have caused my periods to become very irregular and as such my blood sugars are a bit all over the place. I run higher when i am due on and for the first couple of days on, and i can't predict when that will be ( i used to be clockwork every 28 days and need 50% more basal 2 days before and 2 days while on and i knew when that was!) :( sometimes my periods are only 2 weeks apart from bleed to bleed (sorry tmi) sometimes 3 ..I have been tracking them using an app and there is not even a hint of a pattern to them. I have been to the doctor because its affecting my control of blood sugars and they always focus on trying to put me on the pill, I have tried this before and it had a bad effect with my mental health so don't want to go there again. Do you think this is something the diabetes consultant could help with as the GP has frankly been useless and can't offer any explanation of whey this is happening and frankly when i even mentioned periods he nearly fell off his chair! I'm fed up of wondering if i am due on which may be why i'm running high or if i need to adjust basal/bolus. Any advice or has anyone been through this. Thanks x

I recommend a gynaecologist rather than a D consultant, frankly. You only need that amount of whatever hormone(s) you lack, rather than a mixture of synthetic whatever, as per 'the pill' these days.