HIGH READINGS

Status
Not open for further replies.

leggoless

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Morning , i have type 2 dibetes and i was given guidline figures , between 4/7 am and 7/10 pm. i am usually, pretty good ,
with these figures. but just lately (the last 4/5 day's i have gone over. am 7.9 8.7 9.1 pm 10.4 12.9 11.1 .
i am new at this so i need to know is this bad can somebody please advise me.

Thank you.

You need to measure to see what's sending you up and down. 🙂 Maybe potatoes or rice or bread?

You obviously have a blood glucose monitor so you could start a regime of testing before meals and after 2 hours as that will tell you if you are having more carbohydrates than your body can tolerate in that meal.
You would be aiming at no more than a 2-3mmol/l increase after the 2 hours or no more than 8-8.5 mmol/l 2 hours post meal.
You are aiming at a range of 4-7mmol/l fasting or before meals and as mentioned no more than 8-8.5mmol/l after 2 hours.
Morning reading can remain stubbornly high but should trend downward as your meal increases are minimised. It can also depend on when you take your morning reading as some people experience a rise in blood glucose as soon as they get up and potter about so tend to test when still in bed.
Keeping a good record of your readings alongside the meals you are having will help you identify any problem foods so you can reduce or cut those out. You need the pairs of reading for them to be useful.
Whether your evening readings are bad depends on when you took them, if more than 2 hours after your meal then yes, they are much higher than desirable and are most likely related to what you have eaten or drunk for your meal.

Thank you so much for your reply ,it makes me feel better knowing there is someone to talk to.

Thank you so much for your reply ,it makes me feel better knowing there is someone to talk to.