High glucose reading

Status
Not open for further replies.

Debby11

My glucose reading has been high since yesterday 16 to 17 and I can’t seem to get it down no one available to ask at my doctors I wonder if anyone could help. I am fairly new to diabetes after having my pancreas removed.

My glucose reading has been high since yesterday 16 to 17 and I can’t seem to get it down no one available to ask at my doctors I wonder if anyone could help. I am fairly new to diabetes after having my pancreas removed.
We have a few people with Type 3c which is what you will be if you have no pancreas. I would contact your diabetic clinic as your GP is unlikely to have the experience of your Type of diabetes.
However some more information about what medications you are taking will help people to help with some suggestions.

Apologies I didn't read your previous posts.

I take insulin 4 times a day …2 different types in morning Toujeo and Novo rapid and Novo rapid before each meal. My diabetic nurse at Doctors surgery had never come across T3 before and I am still waiting to be referred to hospital diabetes team.

I take insulin 4 times a day …2 different types in morning Toujeo and Novo rapid and Novo rapid before each meal. My diabetic nurse at Doctors surgery had never come across T3 before and I am still waiting to be referred to hospital diabetes team.
Even if your nurse hasn't heard of type3c she should be treating you as type1 anyway. If your levels are high when you wake and still high at bed time then it's your long acting insulin you need to increase.

Only do a couple of units at a time and wait a couple of days before you increase again if needed.
Once your background is ok (long acting) then look at your meal bolus. Don't try changing everything at once because it will cause you a lot of confusion (and everyone else) as you wont know what worked and what didn't.