Hi newbie here

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kath736

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I have Fibromyalgia, a colostomy and now type 2 thrown in the mix. Finding it hard to find a diet that accommodates all three. Any advice welcome.
Katherine

Hello and welcome. What dietary restrictions do you have from the fibro and the colostomy? That will help with ideas of how to balance the 3.

I have Fibromyalgia, a colostomy and now type 2 thrown in the mix. Finding it hard to find a diet that accommodates all three. Any advice welcome.
Katherine
Welcome to the forum.
Lucy beat me to it with her question.
If you are able to give a bit more information about your diagnosis , what your HbA1C is as that will give an indication about how much you will need to modify your diet. The first thing is to look at your intake of sugary foods like cakes, biscuits and sugary drinks but also all carbohydrates as they convert to glucose.

Also, what medication have you been given for diabetes if any, as that may impact on people's suggestions too?

Hello and welcome. What dietary restrictions do you have from the fibro and the colostomy? That will help with ideas of how to balance the 3.
For the Fibro the exercise is deadly for triggering a flare. Some days I feel good and it’s hard not to overdo. For the Colostomy so many foods can cause blockages.

Also, what medication have you been given for diabetes if any, as that may impact on people's suggestions too?
I have just started on Metformin today.
I am a little worried because I noticed they are film coated so hoping it won’t go straight through the colostomy

Which foods are they?
Apple peel,raw cabbage, celery, Chinese veg,whole kernels of corn,coconut, dried fruits,mushrooms,oranges,nuts,pineapple,popcorn
Also been advised to avoid lettuce and cooked cabbage among others

Apple peel,raw cabbage, celery, Chinese veg,whole kernels of corn,coconut, dried fruits,mushrooms,oranges,nuts,pineapple,popcorn