Hi newbie here! Need some tips on carry cases?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LukeEGGY

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi everyone,

I am looking for some advice on carry cases.

I am looking for one small one that can fit in my pocket, which has room for pens, rubbish etc

I am also looking for an all in once case for holidays that can store anything and everything (cold packs etc)

Hi everyone,

I am looking for some advice on carry cases.

I am looking for one small one that can fit in my pocket, which has room for pens, rubbish etc

I am also looking for an all in once case for holidays that can store anything and everything (cold packs etc)
I use a pencil case for holidays, or when I'm taking a large enough bag out with me. I don't have anything small enough for a pocket that would fit everything in that I need. If I'm out and about, either I deploy bits and bobs round various trouser/skirt or coat pockets, or I use a bum bag, or a Spibelt if I'm exercising, so nothing gets shaken up and down.

Do you use cool packs etc when you go away?
I've got a Frio pouch, which you soak in cold water, which then cools by evaporation.
It needs to be ventilated, though, to work. The pencil case I use has mesh sides, so evaporation can take place. Or I keep it loose in my handbag with insulin pens and spare cartridges in.

Ok great, I was considering just using a pencil case and cold pakcs
If you mean the little freezer blocks, they can freeze the insulin if you get them too close,( I do use them in a picnic bag, and have been known to put my insulin pen in with the picnic, well insulated away from the block by a sandwich, but it's not recommended!)

Welcome to the forum LukeEGGY.
A pencil case for insulin in use. Other cartridges in a plastic tub to prevent damage. With bubble wrap to stop them shaking around. When travelling in hot places, I ensure insulin is never left in direct sunshine, nor left near a radiator or near engine in luggage hold of bus etc.