Hi. Need help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lois D

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi,
I have recently been told that I should be a perfect candidate for a pump, but I am scared of the inserting of the canula bit. I have heard that their are types that insert it automatically does anyone have one and what are they like?
Thanks
Lois xx

Hi Lois, welcome to the forum 🙂 I have no personal experience of pumps, but hopefully some of the pumpers here will be able to give you the benefit of their experiences 🙂

welcome from me too not a pumper but there are few here who will come on with support xx in the meantime have a good look around and remember no question is regarded silly here x🙂

The canula bit was the thing that freaked me out the most as well, but it didn't hurt at all! I think most pumps have canula options with an automatic inserter. I use the Inset II, and I've never had any problems with it. It makes a bit of a noise that sounds much scarier that it really is, and there is an automatic spring that inserts the canula into you. 🙂

Hiya,

I use the medtronic and the inserter device thingy (I'm struggling to provide a name for it for you!) which pings it in- no problemo!

I dont experience any pain, occassional discomfort but for me nothing in comparison to previously injecting insulin. However, I would love to manually insert the canula and I couldnt do it, found it far too painful. Inserter "thingy" all the way!

Its so fast- if you ever come to a meet up you certainly would be welcome to practise one of mine and see! It wouldnt be the first time we have done group "try outs"!

Good luck x

I actually self insert which isn't as bad as one thinks, very similar to injecting...

All the companies have a inserter gadget for there 90 degree cannulars, but the angled set are self inserted..