Hi I'm new to this as just been diagnosed pre diabetic. Don't know what my score is need to check with doctor. Im sure this group will help me.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delores

Relationship to Diabetes
At risk of diabetes
Hi I'm new to this as just been diagnosed pre diabetic. Don't know what my score is need to check with doctor. Im sure this group will help me.

Hello @Delores and welcome.
Prediabetes is when Hba1c is in the 40s, so not such a long trek back to normal numbers as some have had - but do take it as a warning that you do not deal well with carbohydrate and analyse what you are eating. You might find that you are getting a lot of carbs from one particular type of food or drink, and by cutting back or removing it from your intake your metabolism will be far more able to cope.
With any luck you should feel better and be back to normal fairly swiftly. I found it such a relief to abandon the 'healthy' high carb low fat diet I was on to reduce cholesterol, it was like coming up for air.

Thanks I brought a glucose monitor but not sure when to use it before or after food. My bloods were done before I'd eaten anything but I need to know score so that I know what I'm dealing with.

Don't believe anything I say because I'm pretty new here and might be talking rubbish.

When your bloods are taken at the doctor it's usually an IV sample and that is to measure your hba1c. That HbA1c number is different to the numbers you get at a finger prick test.

This article here was helpful for me in understanding more about the difference.

The hba1c is done usually every 3 months by an IV blood test.

As far as finger prick testing... That gives you the current reading at the time of the finger prick.