Hi I am new here

jenettedavies

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
She/Her
Hi I am 62 have an AC1 of 50 which has been repeated twice!Really upset as I have been asking GP for diabetes test for 5 years as Grandmother Mother & Mums 3 brothers all type 2 in their 50's all lead a healthy lifestyle & were not overweight.I am overweight but walk a couple of miles daily have never drunk alcohol or smoked.We don't eat processed food keep carbs to a minimum & only have wholemeal bread brown rice pasta etc.We eat tonnes of fresh veg & I only drink water unsweetened tea & coffee.We have the occasional dessert but who doesn't!I am desperate to know what else I can do that I can maintain without being obsessed cant get a Nurse appointment for 2 weeks & am going on a cruise in 3 weeks!

Hi and welcome. This is something you’ve been worried about happening for a while so to find out for sure is a bit of an anti climax and a challenge.
You’re already very aware of living a healthy lifestyle and 50 isn’t so high that some tweaks to your food choices will help reduce that number.
I would read as much info on this website as you can in the next weeks prior to your appointment and then relax into your holiday with a plan in place for when you’re back.
From experience as a long term T2 who followed nhs guidelines on healthy eating…lots of carbs, low fat and restricted calories and got worse and worse …I now know that my body cannot deal with carbs so bread, rice, pasta, potatoes, lentils and so many more foods cannot be part of my lifestyle. I now live on 50-75 carbs daily with more eggs, cheese and meat/fish proteins than ever before in my lifetime. I’ve lost weight. My cholesterol is 3.6 and my A1c dropped from 67 to 41 (unfortunately I need meds to help with this). I’m a work in progress at 75.
Best wishes on this journey.

Welcome to the forum @jenettedavies

Sorry to hear about your diabetes diagnosis :(