Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

sallymariea

Relationship to Diabetes
Parent
Hello all my name is sally and my dad had just been told he as diabetes, im very worried as he is 65 and due a major leg operation in 4 weeks. I hope people can help me and explain what is likely to happen in later years. Should i be worried??????? :(

Thank you 😱)

Sally x (concerned daughter)

I'm fairly new at this but from what I've learned so far, what happens long term depends very much on the level of control your father can establish and that depends a lot on him. What is the op for?

Hi Sally, welcome to the forum🙂 I'm sorry to hear of your dad's diagnosis. Diabetes is a serious condition, but the good news is that it can be controlled and it is possible to live a normal life with it, just by making a few adjustments to diet and lifestyle. In fact, we have some members here who are the same age as your dad and they have been managing extremely well for many years. If you have any questions, please ask them - we are a helpful and friendly bunch!🙂

I'm fairly new at this but from what I've learned so far, what happens long term depends very much on the level of control your father can establish and that depends a lot on him. What is the op for?

Hi Alison, he is having a total knee replacement. we do not know what type is is as yet till he goes back to the doctors next week. Im just a worry wart i suppose but im scared, neithr of us know hardly know anything about it. Although i have to say this website is very veery good and have passed it on for my dad to look at.