Hello! T2 Newbie and a keen baker looking for recipes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda C

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi I was diagnosed a week ago, still all very new and confusing regarding diet so any encouragement, especially to get through Christmas, would be very welcome. I am a baker so this is devastating to me as you can imagine. I would welcome baking ideas and tips. Thanks! Amanda 😛😛

Hi Amanda and welcome to the forum. Have a look in the food section on the forum, there is a subsection there for recipes.

Welcome.
Not much help on the baking front as I am not really a cook or baker though can do both. I am not keen on the after taste from sugar substitutes.

Thank you I am keen to try and do things without additives so sorbitol etc are a no no. Definitely a wake up call though!

Thank you I am keen to try and do things without additives so sorbitol etc are a no no. Definitely a wake up call though!
I have successfully made fruit scones by reducing the sugar and putting slightly more fruit in but not done recently.

I bake using Natvia. Don't think I could not use a sweetener. I've tried using just fruit as a sweetener but cake didn't taste very nice.

Also where you can, use ground almonds instead of wheat flour - unless of course there are nut allergies present. I'm not saying it's less calories, but it is less carbohydrate.

If you haven't used sweeteners for baking before - you only need a quarter to a third of the amount of sugar. Plus with the almonds - you need baking powder if it's anything you want to rise for starters, and will need a wetter mix - more like thick batter than cake mix you have to dollop into the baking tin with a spoon - it needs to move when you tip the mixing bowl up!

(except if it's pastry etc LOL)