Hello I'm a newbie at Diabetes UK

Status
Not open for further replies.

stephen775

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi im Stephen and im on Novorapid and toujeo but im waiting to hear about going onto Fiasp. If anybody has any tips that would be appreciated although I have had Diabetes for years.

I have been using Fiasp for a couple of years.
It has been better for me than NovoSluggish but it doesn't feel as fast acting as when I first used it.
The other thing I have noticed is that it does not last as long out of the fridge. It is not terrible - I don't need to store an open pen in the fridge but I need to be extra careful to keep it out of the sun and, when I travelled, I needed to keep it extra insulated.

Welcome to the forum @stephen775

We have a few members who get on well with Fiasp - @Pumper_Sue is another.

We also have a few (I’m one) who found it didn’t suit them. I found it stopped working quickly after a few weeks, and a few weeks later began to act less reliably, almost like I was slightly resistant to it.

Hope you can get to try it without having to jump through too many hoops, and that it works out well for you. Is it the speed of onset that you are after with it?

Hi and welcome from me too.

I am on my second trial of Fiasp in between using Novo(not so)Rapid. My problem time is breakfast and I needed to pre-bolus oven an hour with NR whereas it is 45mins with Fiasp. It is about 15-20 mins later in the day but occasionally I have been caught out as it has kicked in sooner. My other hope for it was that it would be quicker when I needed corrections but sometimes I feel like it does nothing and other times it works almost too effectively, particularly if I incorporate a bit of exercise.