HbA1c!!!!!!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

superstu21

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
hi all i have just passed my driving test and am now worried because of my poor control i will have it taken away do you think having my HbA1c done every 3 months is a bit to much. ?????

Really dont want to lose it its taken me 4 years to finally do my test

Thanks in advance

Stuart :confused:

Sorry I can't answer your question Stuart, as I'm still new to all this diabetes malarkey, but just wanted to say CONGRATULATIONS!! on passing your driving test.

xx

Hi Stu, congratulations on passing the test!:D

I can't offer any advice on driving regulations, as I don't drive. I would imagine that you BG meter is just as important in showing you have good control as you HbA1c though, as the latter is an average and would 'hide' hypos that were offset by hypers, if you see what I mean. Remember that the really important thing is that you are not likely to hypo whilst at the wheel - this could be disastrous for you and others, so if you have poor control you must try and at the very least avoid this happening.

It’d be worth having a look at the driving board on this forum as there are several discussions on driving licences and diabetes on there.

You do have to let the DVLA know if you’re on insulin (you’ll have had to do this for your provisional licence anyway) and your driving licence will need to be renewed regularly, I think most people are on 3 year licences. It seems their main (certainly not only) concern is hypos as opposed to hba1c so from that perspective I’d have said having a1cs done that regularly wouldn’t be useful for the dvla. Of course another consideration for them would be your eyes, for which of course your control is important.

However if you’re concerned about your levels then absolutely try to have them more regularly if it will help you improve your control.

Hi Stu,