Having kids

Rescue999

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
He/Him
Hello all,

I am new to the page and I am after some advice help or support and not sure where I need to turn to. Below I will post context about myself and my life.

I am 30 in November I finally have a diagnosis of Type 2 diabetes. I was diagnosed as having type 1 diabetes when I was 16 went off the rails and went like 10 years or so noncompliant with any medication. It caused massive fights and arguments within the family and I can't tell you why I did not get on with taking my medication.

Fast forward 10 years and my health has given up on me I am now fully compliant with my medication however the 10 years of not being on the meds have meant that I have changes at the backs of my eyes. I have diabetic retinopathy and have been having laser eye surgery since Christmas 2022 to stop the blood vessels from forming.

Now to the main point about this post. I have been married now for 2 years and my wife wants to have children each day that passes. I am worried that my years of being noncompliant with my medication have made me infertile and that winning the lottery seems more likely than us having a child any time soon.

Has anyone else been in this situation? Dose anyone know who I can turn to? Money is not the best at the moment so turning to IVF or any other private clinic for testing would be a no-go.

Anyway, it is nice to meet you all.

X

I don't know of any reason why you would have trouble conceiving. If you're worried though, speak to your GP and ask for a semen analysis test which will tell you one way or the other.

I don't know of any reason why you would have trouble conceiving. If you're worried though, speak to your GP and ask for a semen analysis test which will tell you one way or the other.
Thanks I will plan to get this booked in at some point soon.

Thanks I will plan to get this booked in at some point soon.