Guardian Link 3 and Diathermy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicola1984

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hoping someone might have some answers...

I’ve just had a delivery of Guardian Link 3 sensors and I’m awaiting an appointment with my diabetes team to get started.

I’ve just been having a read through the transmitter instruction manual and it advises removing the sensor and transmitter before entering a room that has x-ray, MRI, diathermy, or CY scan equipment.

Herein lies a problem. I work as a dermatology nurse practitioner and operate daily using a hyfrecator to cauterise blood vessels during surgery. I’m now worried I won’t be able to use this sensor as this may cause it to malfunction.

I wondered if any other Guardian Link 3 users work on healthcare and have come across this problem?

Thanks in advance!

Hoping someone might have some answers...

I’ve just had a delivery of Guardian Link 3 sensors and I’m awaiting an appointment with my diabetes team to get started.

I’ve just been having a read through the transmitter instruction manual and it advises removing the sensor and transmitter before entering a room that has x-ray, MRI, diathermy, or CY scan equipment.

Herein lies a problem. I work as a dermatology nurse practitioner and operate daily using a hyfrecator to cauterise blood vessels during surgery. I’m now worried I won’t be able to use this sensor as this may cause it to malfunction.

I wondered if any other Guardian Link 3 users work on healthcare and have come across this problem?

Thanks in advance!
I have just read that the same guidelines are given for the Libre sensor and I’ve been using that whilst at work without event.

I haven’t gone on fire yet so fingers crossed this is just a safety precaution that they have to mention!

Welcome to the forum @Nicola1984
i don’t have any experience of diathermy, but I hope that it works out for you.
Which pump are you using With it.

Thanks!!