Got myself in a bit a state

Status
Not open for further replies.

Poppyqueen

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi everyone,
I was diagnosed as Type 2 in Nov, my figure was 79, and I got in down to 50, and lost 2stone in weight, I take one Metformin tab 3 times a day.
Since Xmas I-have gone off my diet, and been eating a few things which I shouldn’t have. I’m a discharge social worker in a busy hospital, and work has been stressful. I know I put other people before myself.
ive noticed over last week I’ve had a couple of false hypos, but also my lack of concentration has gone at times when I’m working. How do I get myself out of this cycle? I live alone, and moved to a new town,and worried I might have one of these hypos then it be found, I know that’s me being stupid.
Ive been to the Supermarket,and bought all the food I was having when I lost the 2 stone, and have also just been to chemist and bought a glucose monitor. How can I stop the fluctuating blood sugars I think I am having please x

You've made a great start by getting a BG monitor @Poppyqueen. That was the only way I managed to keep on track. I don't use it so much now, but still use it when eating something different so I can see what it's doing to me. Well done on the weight loss and BG reduction. It's hard when you have a stressful job as stress in itself can raise your BG. Are you able to take breaks and eat at a consistent time? I know that's one thing the nurses on our team struggle with. Try to keep a diary of what you are eating and test before eating and 2 hours after. You shouldn't go up more than 2-3 units. If you are, you need to rethink what you are eating. Best of luck x

Hi @Poppyqueen Are you on any diabetes medication apart from Metformin?
Just asking because unless your BG has been very high recently, it's unusual for a Type 2 to get a BG drop big enough to get hypo's or false hypo's if they are just taking metformin.