Going Abroad with a Pump

Status
Not open for further replies.

mum2westiesGill

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Do you take your pump when you go to a hot country & if so how do you go on with the insulin?

We always go self catering so I put the insulin I'm not using in the fridge. I tend to avoid lying in the sun and haven't had a problem with the insulin that's in my pump: I think it tends to get quite warm next to my body anyway so not sure outside temperature makes a lot of difference (mind you I don't go to places where the temperature is over 37 so that could make a difference!)
Have a lovely time.

Thank you Radders. I'm not going on holiday I'm just asking lots of questions because I'm considering going on a pump. A DSN who has very kindly been coming from the hospital & attending my last few D appointments together with the practice nurse who looks after my diabetes thinks that I would meet the criteria for a pump. I've been injecting (MDI) for 24 years. A small part of me thinks am I better off staying with injections & my insulin pens.

I have a Frio bag to keep the insulin which is not in use in between fridge availability. A small cooler bag is also useful and is quite acceptable going through customs. Never had a problem as long as I keep it in my hand luggage. On long flights the air hostess will put it in the fridge and you have to remember to ask for it when leaving. Wherever you decide to go have a great time. Let nothing stop you. Syl

No problem at all. I have been travelling to the tropics for years and for long periods (five or six months at a time). I've done it on MDI and with the pump and I know which I prefer! The insulin in the pump is fine (it's only out of the fridge for a few days after all), and I've never had the need to take any special measures to keep the pump cool even when the temperature is heading for the 40's. I've tried the Frio thingies and they don't seem to make any difference as far as I can tell.