Glucotabs/Dextro

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vicsetter

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I know you T1s use Glucotabs/Dextro to treat hypos, those of us that manage to avoid hypos - does anyone know what the best before date means. Mine keep going out of date and I can't see what will be wrong with them.

Also a bit worried with the Glucotabs. On the end of the tube is says ' BestBuy 12/2010'. Are this a translation error?

Personally, I will still eat food that is out of date apart from dairy and meat. There's nothing wrong with it whatsoever.

I don't see a problem 🙂

I kept a handfull of dextro in my running belt for months (just loose) and the day I needed them they were extremely hard but otherwise did the trick.

Personally I wouldn't even had thought about the eat by/sell by date on something like that - can't think there's anything in them that would go off??

As they say, I'm not an expert, but I wouldn't worry about it - maybe worst case I'd replace them every now and again just so they're easier to eat

Totally agree with Laura, except would add biscuits and oatcakes which can taste a bit ropey when well past use by date.
Once bought cans of cider (pre D days!) 3 months out of date - no problem!

Totally agree with Laura, except would add biscuits and oatcakes which can taste a bit ropey when well past use by date.
Once bought cans of cider (pre D days!) 3 months out of date - no problem!

I once bought 10 cans of cider - drank them all!

Not sure of the date...

Not surprised you can't remember the date - probably not the year!! lol

Best Before is only a guideline. They will still be fine for a few months after that. They might just not taste as good. It's the same with all foods. It's only the USE BY that means do Not use after this date. But even with those dates I eat things 2 days after Use By.

I have seen a TV programme where the presenter ate food, including meat, that was 1 week out of Use By Date and he didn't suffer at all.