Glucose Revolution?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SeanAntrim

Relationship to Diabetes
At risk of diabetes
Hello I’m new to this. 80-year-old pre-diabetic trying to get the numbers down and lose weight. Just finished reading “The Glucose Revolution” and wondering what others make of it? Especially her recommendation of full-fat dairy products which I have been avoiding for years because I also have high cholesterol.

Welcome to forum @SeanAntrim

It’s not a book I have read, so I can’t comment I’m afraid. Various people have published their own takes on diabetes and food over the years, and very low carb, keto, or LCHF (low carb, high fat) advocates have been sharing their suggestions for decades.

There is a large volume of scientific evidence that links high cholesterol levels, and the consumption of saturated fats with cardio vascular risk. Personally I think there can be merit for different people in a variety of approaches to food, and I aim for a healthy balance between macro and micro nutrients, with moderation in all things as my general guide. That’s not advice… it’s just what I do.

We certainly have different members here who have found each of the approaches (low calorie, low carb, intermittent fasting etc etc) didn’t work for them, but another approach worked much better. So it seems to me that the most important thing is to find the approach that is sustainable and works for you and your body.

Diabetes UK have this helpful ‘enjoy food’ guide which covers a lot of ground:

and have also published a variety of different meal planners that show you can successfully adopt a variety of approaches from low calorie, to low carb, or mediterranean, veggie, and vegan.

I tend to be cautious of any suggestions at the outer edges of the conversation, because I don’t think I would find those so helpful myself.