Global Outage - problems 19 july

s'nic

Relationship to Diabetes
At risk of diabetes
Wow, just wow. Our scary reliance on technology

Screenshot from the BBC's live feed :rofl:
1721394904972.png

I cannot believe I am about to write this but ...
I feel sorry for Microsoft

They are not at fault.
The problem seems to be with the very popular security tool, CrowdStrike, that Microsoft use in their cloud which is leading to the issues

I totally agree, this was cause by a CrowdStrike bug, but the prevalence of microsoft has brought everything crashing down.
As an ex IT professional I just found that 'off and on again' funny .. IT is like ...
1721399020267.png

But on a serious note, if we did have a technology extinction event then we would be in deep trouble. eg for those who have seen it - like at the end of the film The World's End (staring Simon Pegg and Nick Frost).

How many basics (including food, medicine and clothing) are imported from overseas. I don't think UK could support itself atm. An isolated UK would be thrown back to sailing to Europe initially to trade, and without navigation technology.

Do I think we will be without technology and the ability to import from distant countries? Nope.
But theoretically anything is possible. No one thought we'd have a pandemic at the end of 2019.
I strongly doubt any government has given little (if any) thought to contingency in such a situation, which is not a comforting thought.

Just a small window into how it might affect us - I use the NHS app to order repeat prescriptions but it was affected by the outage caused by the Crowdstrike error.

However, NHS have an emergency number 111 where you can order repeat prescriptions to be sent directly to your chosen chemist/provider.
P.S.The website https://111.nhs.uk/ is less useful and tries to send you back to the defunct NHS app.

However, NHS have an emergency number 111 where you can order repeat prescriptions to be sent directly to your chosen chemist/provider.