Glargine Pens

Status
Not open for further replies.

RBZ5416

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I was looking to switch from Semglee as it's only available in disposable pens. But a quick Google suggests that the only other glargine available in a cartridge is Lilly's Abasaglar. Sanofi's site suggests that their Lantus & Toujeo are also only available in disposable pens. So a couple of questions:

Have I missed something or another product name?

Are Lilly's pens reliable? I seem to recall a few posts suggesting otherwise.

I have had no issues with my ablasaglar

I used to use Lantus cartridges, with a Junior Star pen which does half units. I switched to Levemir a couple of years ago, but I think the Junior star is still available, according to @Inka 's link it is, anyway.

I asked my DSN about reusable pens a few months back.
Got one for fiasp but she said no reusable pen was available for abasaglar.

I have been using reusable pens and cartridges for Lantus for about 20 years. As I now have a pump, this is only a backup and have not renewed my pen for over 10 years. However, the cartridges are definitely available with no trouble (I renewed my backup insulin last week).

Lantus is more expensuve than abasaglar and i have been told locally they don't prescibe it here for that reason

im going to bring up the savvio pens next time i speak to her :D

Thing is, the re-usable pens are more expensive when considering them as a 'one off' - but when I used Lantus (which I did for a number of years, at least 5) I never, ever needed a replacement pen - because they are made a lot better than the cheap and nasty disposables.

I was looking to switch from Semglee as it's only available in disposable pens. But a quick Google suggests that the only other glargine available in a cartridge is Lilly's Abasaglar. Sanofi's site suggests that their Lantus & Toujeo are also only available in disposable pens. So a couple of questions:

Have I missed something or another product name?