give this a go

Status
Not open for further replies.
Absolutely amazing, I was trying to sort it out and like you say, Bev, it makes your head hurt. I'm quite glad I have to sort it out for myself and not try to sort out a child, I think that would be harder than ever. Well done parents.

Well my guess was 4u - not too far off till she threw in the PE and growth spurt info! But then I've been pumping for 6 years and carb counting for over 26 years...maybe I had an unfair advantage lol

I don't know how my parents (well, my mum) coped with me as a kid, as well as she could/was advised at the time which was not very well I think - no overnight blood tests, very few blood tests generally (with BM stix carefully cut in half lengthways), no HbA1c within target range for about 20 years after diagnosis. Oh and HbA1c was taken every 3 months at clinic appointments, but the result was never available until the next clinic appt 3 months later! Hopeless!

Almost exactly the sums I was trying to work out this morning! K has PE and Drama this afternoon(will make BS lower), she is having a growth spurt (makes BS higher - we need to increase Levemir really) , she may have a cold coming on (higher), the weather here is dreadful today (lower), she is having pasta salad for lunch (cold pasta higher, full fat cheese, lower), she has a clinic appointment tomorrow which she is worrying about (higher), she's an 11 year old girl with unpredictable hormones (higher/lower - I duuno) 😱 Sometimes it just feels like 'think of a number'

I cant imagine keeping all that information in your head for THREE children though - my brain would just give up! (Trouble is you cant).

Thanks for sharing that Bev (and I didnt even try to guess the dose - I dont understand the American BS figures 😱)

Last edited: