Gallstone

Status
Not open for further replies.

mage 1

I went for a ultrasound scan yesterday they found a big gallstone I am not in any pain so was a bit shocked. Do you usually have them out or can you just live with them I have read so much I am now confused.doctor is ringing me today so I would like to get some insight into what other have done thanks

I know a couple of people who were in much pain and digestive upset with them so they did have surgery to remove to gall bladder.
They were diagnosed because of that so I suppose it all depends.
Other stones eg bladder, kidney can sometimes be broken up with ultrasound, I don't know about gall stones.

Hi @mage 1 and hope your doctor has been able to reassure you somewhat. I have no knowledge of gallstones other than a couple of colleagues who have had operations which were successful. As I recall they had a fortnight on sick leave to recover with no complications. Best wishes x

Hi @mage 1 and hope your doctor has been able to reassure you somewhat. I have no knowledge of gallstones other than a couple of colleagues who have had operations which were successful. As I recall they had a fortnight on sick leave to recover with no complications. Best wishes x
Thank you the doctor text me to say everything looked ok and I didn’t need a operation at the moment

I have a small Gallstone and have had one for a couple of years - it has caused me some slight discomfort on occasion (usually when eating a fatty meal!) but I refuse to have my gallbladder removed - seems the default option - of course you can live perfectly normally without a gallbladder but I hear of so many stories when it has been removed and the effects are worse than the occasional pain with the gallbladder / gallstone still in place...

If it's not causing major issues, I'd be inclined to leave it as is but monitor...