Fundamental misunderstanding

Status
Not open for further replies.

mhtyler

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I've been working to increase my knowledge of diabetes for a few years now, but a video I watched on YouTube leads me to believe there is something fundamental I don't understand. Here is the link to the video in case you'd like to see it:

The video is about doing your own A1c test at home. Here is what blew me away. I've had an A1c of 7 for the last few quarters at least. She says, that means my average glucose is 154mg/dl, or 8.4 mmol/L. Isn't A1c in mmol/L? If so, why is my personal measurement going to be higher than my A1c? I actually thought it would be the other way around. I'm very confused. Somebody, please help clarify this for me. thanks in advance.

Because the personal finger prick tests are measuring a different thing than hba1c even though the units used are similar

Hba1c can be reported in % (usually USA) or mmol/mol. It represents the amount of glucose the red blood cells have been exposed to in their life time. The average lifetime is around 12 weeks. So this test measures glycation of old, middle aged and new cells all,of which will have had different amounts of exposure. Hence the fact it’s seen as an average of the last 3 months and any changes take that long to be fully represented.

Fingerpricks measure blood glucose as it is right now in this moment. Levels can changed in minutes let alone hours, days or weeks. They are reported in mg/dl (mostly USA) or mmol/L (uk & Europe).

When the say hba1c is equivalent to an average blood glucose reading of x y or z that’s making the assumption you’d have identical blood glucose levels all the time - which you don’t. To make an average blood glucose number be as accurate as possible in predicting hba1c you need a broad range of figures across the day and from all situations where you capture the lows (eg fasted) and highs (soon after meals)