Fridge Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

margie

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
OK - I haven't been around for a while, a lot going on with parents health etc.

Back to topic - for a few weeks I have been having quite erratic sugars, they improve when I change a cartridge but not for long. The morning values have been really high - and making me fed up.

So I started to wonder about the fridge - bought a fridge thermometer yesterday and the fridge is mainly at the upper end or above where it should be, however, the door compartment where I store the insulin is about 10. Now I know that insulin degrades above 8 and the rate of degredation increases with temp. The Lantus I have been using had been in the fridge for nearly 2 months, so I suspect has degraded quite a bit. I got a new box on Thursday so will start that today. Have moved the insulin to the slightly colder part of the fridge and have just ordered a new one.

I am wondering whether I should use my frio pack until I get the new fridge.

if you think the fridge is packing up, then get a new one. have a look round as some places you can do a trade in withthe old one. Certainly worth thtinking about to keep insulin at peak quality/performance

The new fridge will be here Wednesday. Didn't do a trade in, the council will pick up the old fridge and take it to a place that reconditions electrical appliances.

Its weird but when your BMs go funny the fridge is the last thing you think of.

SNAP .......my fridge is packing up aswell .....😱 what did you decide to get marg ? never brought one new always been given one ...its a total mystery to me ....

Buy the most expensive one you can - you get what you pay for. Cheap plastic, cheap thermostats etc. My current one is a Bosch and seems very good. I also have an old LG that's moved house with us. water dispenser packed up pretty quick but fridge and freezer still working well.