FreeStyle Libre on the NHS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

debi37

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
hi I'm new to this I have been using freestyle libre sensor that I've buying myself, I asked my diabetes nurse if I could get them on prescription but she says I don't qualify as have type 2. the practice nurse said that they are £35 to buy through NHS, how do I go about doing that and if I bought a yearly prescription card from chemist could I buy them that way, any advice appreciated

hi I'm new to this I have been using freestyle libre sensor that I've buying myself, I asked my diabetes nurse if I could get them on prescription but she says I don't qualify as have type 2. the practice nurse said that they are £35 to buy through NHS, how do I go about doing that and if I bought a yearly prescription card from chemist could I buy them that way, any advice appreciated
You can’t buy them through the NHS without a prescription. You would need to buy through Abbot, they’re just under £50 each. The NHS pays £35 as they’ve negotiated that price since they’re buying large quantities. It’s not the price for the general public.

Hi and welcome to the forum.

I wonder if @everydayupsanddowns or another member of staff could split your post off into it's own thread where it may get more appropriate replies than this thread which is about pumps.

Can you tell us a bit more about your diabetes management @debi37 Things like how long you have been diagnosed and what, if any, medication you are on?
There are circumstances where a Type 2 diabetic on Multiple Daily Injections (MDI) of insulin might possibly qualify for Libre on prescription but you would need to fit quite strict criteria and even then, probably need to be persistent in pushing to get it. Many of us self funded until we got it on prescription and at £50 a sensor it isn't cheap, but for me it was absolutely worthwhile, even on low income.