Freestyle libre coming unstuck

Clem68

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I have been using the freestyle libre now for 12 months. Over the last 5 months I have been having problems with some of them coming unstuck after about 7 days use (5 times now). Abbott always been great and replaced them but I wondered if anyone else been having these kind of problems. I read somewhere that they'd changed the adhesive due to issues people were having with it and wonder whether this could be the cause.

Bruce Stephens

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
For what little it's worth I haven't noticed much change. The current adhesive seems to stick adequately to me. (But of course I wouldn't be surprised if different people had differing skin surfaces.)

MarkGeordie

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
My latest one has been on 9 days now and has slightly arose from my skin. It’s still working but I’m worried it’s going to come off.

Amity Island

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I have been using the freestyle libre now for 12 months. Over the last 5 months I have been having problems with some of them coming unstuck after about 7 days use (5 times now). Abbott always been great and replaced them but I wondered if anyone else been having these kind of problems. I read somewhere that they'd changed the adhesive due to issues people were having with it and wonder whether this could be the cause.
Me too! I've had several lose their adhesion after about a week, again, spoke with Abbott and replaced no problem, also had a faulty sensor, told Abbott the fault codes and they replaced it.

The sensors do seem very hit and miss regarding adhesion, the ones they sent to me direct have always had really good adhesion, making it very difficult to remove after the 2 weeks is up.

Still the best thing to come onto the market for type 1's on m.d.i this century since insulin was invented!

Last edited:

Bexlee