Freestyle Libre 2 reader

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToniMc

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
She/Her
I am a teacher. I often work in prisons and cannot take my phone on site. I have tried countless times to get a reader from Abbott but have found it impossible. They say they will 'escalate' my query but they phone me back during the day when I cannot access my phone. I never have a missed call from them but they always leave a voicemail - weird? They will not speak to me via e mail. I am so frustrated. Any advice?

Sorry to hear about the frustrations you are having getting a reader.

They were in short supply for a while - are you able to order one on their website?

I am a teacher. I often work in prisons and cannot take my phone on site. I have tried countless times to get a reader from Abbott but have found it impossible. They say they will 'escalate' my query but they phone me back during the day when I cannot access my phone. I never have a missed call from them but they always leave a voicemail - weird? They will not speak to me via e mail. I am so frustrated. Any advice?
Call them on a Saturday or whichever day you aren’t working?

I don't think they've been offering them for sale for a couple of years.

Gosh is that still the case?! Those shortages seemed such a long time ago!

Hello, this is just a long shot. Do you own a smart watch like a non “LTE” Galaxy? Appreciated the site you work does not permit telecommunication devices. On my research recently getting BG readings from Libre off my phone to a suitable watch. I stumbled across this? It could be possible with a wearable app to get sensor readings to a watch? I’m not certain how solid the tether would be. But if you happen to already have some tech, it could be possible.

Have you tried going back to your GP and asking them to prescribe a Reader? Mine arrived in the post because my original prescription had included a Reader.