Food shopping

Status
Not open for further replies.

CoventryTrev

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 3c
Just been food shopping at Asda and walking down each aisle, my partner is throwing nice food in the trolley. Me, I'm walking down each aisle thinking no I can't eat that or that looks nice then I remember, no can't eat that.
I'm new to diabetes (type 1) and finding it hard when it comes to food.
I have removed all sugar in drinks and moved to sweetener. I try not to eat junk between meal but sometimes the temptation gets to much.
Does it get any easier?!?!

You can eat anything at all (ish, still avoid eating anything poisonous) once you know how to adjust insulin to match the food.

As Lucy has said once you know how to match your carbs to insulin from a diabetes perspective you do not need to restrict your diet.

I'm not currently carb counting as it completely confuses me.
So I can eat a bar of chocolate but how do I know how many units of insulin I should give myself to counteract it?
Sorry,but I'm totally confused with diabetes, carbs and food.

So I can eat a bar of chocolate but how do I know how many units of insulin I should give myself to counteract it?