Food advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChrisLiz

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hello everyone. My first chat with you all as I am a newbie and I could really use your help. I'm type 2, diagnosed 15 years ago, on insulin. Shielded with my 91 year old Mum throughout lockdown and now really struggling with anxiety. I was so overwhelmed when I went into town for the first time after lockdown that I was struck with stress related diarrhea (after full GP involvement & now officially diagnosed), something that has reoccurred several times at various medical appointments, caused me such distress and embarrassment to the point that I'm staying at home while waiting for therapy sessions to start, which may be some months away.
So, to my point, being on my own with my thoughts and anxiety, I cut so much out of my diet in an effort to eat so plainly but, of course, that hasn't helped at all because the upset tummy is caused by anxiety. I now have my sensible head on and realise that I have to eat healthily, just as I used to, and put up with the upset tummy until I get the therapy sessions.
I know that I should be eating white meat, fish, vegetables and a couple of types of fruit each day.
What do you suggest? Just start from tomorrow, immediately eating chicken and two veg for dinner, two types of fruit spread out during the day, or would you reintroduce one veg at a time, one fruit at a time? Thanks guys x

Welcome to the forum, it is hard for somebody in your situation to know where to turn, but if you could be a bit more specific about what you are asking, as advice and suggestions will depend on a number of factors such as what your HbA1c is and what insulin regime you are on, as foods you can eat will depend on that.
How well controlled was your diabetes before your recent problems?
Hopefully somebody who is Type 2 on insulin can chip in to offer some suggestions.