Feel Silly But Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Faceman

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I've just been diagnosd with Diabetes. I'll be seeing the Diabetic Nurse on Monday, but I have so many questions, so many fears. My Fasting blood Level was 10mmols, and I know the normal is less than that. The Doctor told me when he gave me a random test the day before that more than likely my diabetes would be controlled by Diet & Tablet but the Diabetic Nurse didn't confirm this & it's worried me a lot! Now the silly thing is that I'm a qualified Mental health nurse who knows a little about Diabetes but not enough. Can anybody help. What are the chances that they'll put me on Insulin now? What sort of things food wise will I have to give up? Any help would be appreciated

Nigel

Usually, when first diagnosed, people get put on pills and diet or (as far as I've heard) only diet. When that doesn't seem to work, a switch to insulin could be made. So it's very likely you'll get pills to begin with.

Blood sugar levels should be between 4 and 9 or 10. Fasting level should be around 5 or 6, I suppose. That would be normal for someone without diabetes, so most of us don't make that. 10 is rather high, but not alarming. I had 19 when I was diagnosed (yes, fasting level) and according to my doctor then that wasn't enormously high either (eventhough I doubt that now).

As far as food is concerned, that's so different for everyone. Usually the first thing you'll hear is 'cut the carbs', but that's not the solution for everyone.
Personally I think you should get in touch with a dietrician (spelling?, sorry, I'm Dutch) and work with him/her on what works for you.