Fasting BG - please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Urbansoulpie

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi All

I'm hoping to do a overnight basal test soon but I've never done one before and my DSN was fairly clueless when I spoke to her about it.

I know many of you on here will have done them before so was hoping you could give me a step by step guide and some tips?

Thanks!

Hi, any chance you could get a continuous glucose monitor from your team for a few days ? Might make things bit easier, esp if just starting out on the pump. Good luck 🙂

Urban, this is a gradual process. It's all very well testing every 2 hours in the day but maybe not at night and hard to know whether one's BG when only being allowed to sleep properly for what? an hour a a time? tells the correct story of what happens when you sleep all night !

The advice re getting Bolus out of your system is fine.

My Hosp say test at 3 am for 3 nights. Not in successive nights. And see what that tells you. Then 5am ditto. I've done that and no pattern (which is a problem I had before the pump so nowt new there LOL) so now I have to do 3 and 5 consecutively on 3 nights if you see what I mean.

Thanks everyone.
Some very good points there trophywench, spoke to my DSN today and she was clueless about basal testing. So I think I might do as you sasy and test at the same time each night.

Fasting BG

Sorry you don't have a good Diabetes nurse - mine is brilliant and has helped me through a few almost major incidents. She has given me step by step instructions for 3 sets of basal rate tests - one morning / one afternoon and one overnight - if you'd be interested in seeing them - I'm happy to oblige.
I don't think anyone's BS can be as all over the place as mine are/were - so I did my overnight tests during the weekend - and then had a nap the following day as I knew I wouldn't be up to doing them on a working day.