Exercise Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spunky

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi. I have started going to the gym every other day to improve my fitness and movement following a stroke.
I have what some people on here describe as an odd insulin routine that the Diabetic Clinic set up for me at Addenbrookes hospital in Cambridge - which is two separate injections of Touejo - glargine in the AM and PM (72 and 63).

What I am finding is in the hours following my exercise my sugars keep dropping low - I expected them to fall during and shortly after but this is more long term - I sometimes find by the end of my exercise I need to top up my sugar - which I do - but then a couple of hours later it crashes again. I am tending to exercise in the morning so I am thinking I should lower the morning dose on days when I exercise.

I have a CGM that I self fund and so I am aware of the drops - but I am new to exercising so is delayed drop usual?

MY 90 day average (since my stoke) is 7.5mmol/L but since I joined a gym a week and a half ago I have dropped the last 14 day average to 6.9 but I have had occasions of sugars in the 3.2 - 3.9 range.

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

but I am new to exercising so is delayed drop usual?
Yes, completely normal. Depending on the details some people find it's lower for that night or even the next day. (This is people with Type 1 but I don't think it's surprising you find it too.)

It's certainly worth mentioning it to your team and perhaps they can suggest some things to try.