Dont want to get my hopes up, but...

Status
Not open for further replies.

hyper-Suze

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Heya all you old school pumpers, and new! Hope your all enjoying this lovely late summer...

So I have been whinging on and on to my DSN& head consultant for a pump for 3 years. I was badly controlled before then, not trying, not really wanting to try either. All of my knowledge of diabetes was limited and outdated by 8 years.

Since then I have reigned in my control(HBA from !2% to 7.5%), worked with MDI, done dafne, worked really really hard with DSN and learned/absorbed all I can about pumps.

I got a letter yesterday from my consultant(hand written & signed might I add) that following our numerous converstations I am going to be assessed for a pump and prior to putting my case forward for funding, I need to be educated and have a pre-pump assessment.

As you will have all been through the pump motions, what does this mean...am I getting closer or are they dangling that carrot in front of me??

I realise that even if I get all this assessment done that my case can still fall at the last hurdle as NICE can decline but how long does this process now take and what is involved?

Appreciate any comments or advice!!!:D

I am sure one of the Pumpers will be along with some advice.

I would just like to wish you well with the journey ahead.

Just want to second what Margie says and wish you luck.🙂

Rob

Suzie good luck with the pump you deserve this x t/c

Each clinic has there own way of doing things so difficult to say what sort of time scale

it's the Consultant you've got to get the go ahead from, the PCT can't denile fundingi if the consultant says you need a pump..

When it comes to NICE guidelines you don't have to fit all of it, just parts of and your clinic or PCT can't not chose the parts of NICE they want to use..