Does anyone wear their cannulas in their legs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Just wondering. Because of all the problems I have been having recently with my quiksets and lipos, my DSN suggested inserting them in my leg. If anyone does this, can they tell me is it just as easy to wear them there as on the abdomen? Does clothing restrict the tubing? And can they still wear their pumps in their pockets? Thanks 🙂

I don't, but some pumpers I talk to, do. I don't see why you couldn't still have it in your pocket but obviously depends on length of tubing and your dimensions! LOL

I've currently got a cannula in my leg. The only difference I find is that I have to be more careful when pulling trousers up and down. I have forgotton a couple of times and pulled the cannula out. I haven't noticed any difference in absorbtion really, but I am still new to the pump so need a little more time to be sure of that.

I wear my pump either in my pocket or bra and can do both with a leg site.

I wear them in my thighs and my buttocks too. Same as sofaraway, you just need to get used to it being there, I pulled it out a few times pulling my trousers up too. I carry the pump on my belt or in my bra. If you're worried about the tubing being too short, you can get longer tubing with your sets.

Thank you guys, it's really good to hear from other pumpers using these sites 🙂 I feel much more confident about it now! I'll have to remember to be extra careful when pulling my trousers up/down.

Not tried it myself yet (still early days for me) but I think my next port of call will be my back.

I tried a Silhouette in my leg while on saline and would need to position a thigh set carefully to avoid all the junk I keep in my pockets!