Doctors Receptionists......is it just me ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffyboyslim

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I had my results back for my latest HBa back . Before they came I was asked by my GP to get them then come in and see her . She wanted to speak to me about my BG , wt , numbness in my hands , B12 , thyroid etc

I get very stressed out dealing with people in authority and she asked me if it was urgent , I said I don't know but I do know my doctor wanted to talk to me about a lot of things .

I started to fret so I said please just tell me the reading .....the last one was 52 , down from 87 .......she said its says here it's satisfactory , no need for further action ?

I wanted to know if it was 50 or 45 etc

She said I can't tell you that , I am not a doctor ?

I said I just want the figure , I can work out if the medication is working !

God I got so distressed , she offered me an appointment in 2 weeks !

Should I phone back and just ask again for the actual level ?

Receptionists can't tell you.
Do you have online access to your records?
That's the easiest way to get them.

Someone on the telephone helpline has stated they should tell you if you ring the doctors receptionist?

The helpline said there is no reason why if I ask for the actual hbac1 figure ......my last one was 52 ......they cannot give it to me

I am not asking for an interpretation, if its lower or higher or the same , I am able to do that

Just the reading , that's all

I now have online Patient access and can see all my results as soon as they come in without having to ring the doctors and be stuck in a queue for ages. I have been told my Hba1c in the past though when i asked the receptionist.

I would not expect my GP receptionist to share my results. Apart from not understanding what the numbers mean, the receptionist area is not private and I would not expect them to share personal information within hearing distance of the waiting room.