do i need it

Status
Not open for further replies.

goldie31

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
i am new to t2 and have been told i have to monitor my blood but when i ask my old dr he said i dont need it but all the nurses say i do .do you think i should buy one .i now have a new dr and i see him the morra i think i will ask him see wot he says:confused:

If you are on prescribed medication I would have thought you would have had a script for one and the apprpriate strips/lancets.

Surprised the practice hasn't given you an info pack and that you haven't been scheduled to see the diabetes team at the clinic.

Rattle the GP's cage.
Let us know what happens.

Hi Goldie - have you had any luck yet? Another poster told his GP when he was refused a meter that he would not stand for that because of costing and he would change his GP - he got a meter & strips prescribed very quickly. I cannot believe how short sighted GP's can be sometimes - surely someone wanting to take responsibility and look after themselves is so much better than someone that doesn't and causes the NHS more costs in treatment due to complications in the future?

You should ask the nurse who is encouraging you to test for a meter they usually have loads from the reps, as they give them away for free. Then get your new GP to prescribe some strips.

testing especially when you are new to diabetes will give you information to see how you are doing and what things are causing your blood sugars to rise. you can then make appropriate changes in your diet/lifestyle.

Last edited:
If they're anything like my GP they wont have any luck getting the strips. I had to buy the meter and the strips...The last lot of strips I bought cost me ?20...and that was a bargain! 😡