Differing results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nanalinboy

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hello there , I’m a newbie on this site , but looks like you may be what we’ve been looking for . We are both diabetic , and recently my partner has noticed that his level can be so different from one finger to another , this morning he checked the same finger twice , one on each side of finger , one side was 8.9 the other side was 9.2 . Does this seem normal ,has anyone else noticed this please

Hi @Nanalinboy, and welcome to the forum. What you are seeing is quite normal. A little while ago I tested all eight fingers and both thumbs just to see what the variability was. Showed me that the best thing is to round the result up to the nearest whole number and don't be surprised if the variation is +/- 1 of the average. Since that time I have never quoted a single result without rounding.

So, for me, your 8.9 and 9.2 are the effectively same and best reported as 9's. If you had banged away at all your fingers you might well have got some 8's and 10's and maybe even the odd 7 or 11. This does not mean your results are useless, far from it. You just have to take a little care in interpreting them.

A range of 8-10 on waking is a bit higher than most would normally look for and are consistent with you getting a diabetes diagnosis. Do you know what your HbA1c was on diagnosis and are you on medication or taking steps to bring your blood glucose levels down?