Diagnosis

Status
Not open for further replies.

helnel

Hi all, I'm a newbie here. I don't have diabetes, but it's in my family (type 2) and I've been told I have the defective gene that means I will get it at some point.

I know many type 2's can control their BG without the need for medication. I want to know if it's possible to be diabetic but not really show symptoms because it's actually 'under control' through a normal healthy diet.

What does anyone think?

Not really sure to be honest, but sounds plausible.

Maybe it's worth getting your hands on a blood glucose meter, I think you can buy them in some pharmacists.

I read recently the TV Chef Anthony WT has or had syndrome X which is a pre-cursor to diabetes, and that's why he did some cook book with healthy food for such a scenario.

A healthy or healthier diet couldn't be a bad thing to do either way!

Good luck with fending it off!!

I suppose if you are doing all the right things with diet and exercise and you are aware of the potential, it is possible not to show any symptoms. As it is in your family and you MIGHT develope it for genetic reasons, it is sensible to keep an eye on things.

What test did you have to be told that you have a defective gene? If it runs in your family are you being tested regularly for diabetes?

I suspect that yes it would be possible to delay the onset by eating a healthy diet. But people with diabetes have difficulty with carbohydrates and even in normal quantaties will raise blood sugars. This does depend on each individual tolerence though. What would show diabetes would be a glucose tolerence test, whatever your normal diet was.

Thanks guys. I really should get myself tested. These past few weeks I've had 2 possible symptoms; tiredness and nausea (is nausea a symptom?, it isn't usally listed on lists of diabetes symptoms, but I did read it somewhere).

I was advised to get oral glucose tolerance test, so I'll ask about that at my doctors.