Diagnosed this summer - Follow up bloods to be done end Sept

Status
Not open for further replies.

RFS

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hello
I presented to my docs in the middle of a busy tennis season (I am a tennis writer and so am away for huge portions of the year at the beck and call of media facilities.,.rarely healthy!) and also after a sudden bereavement.
My symptoms were excessive thirst and up two-hourly at its worst going to the loo in the night, pins and needles in my right hand and a sudden and excessive weight loss from almost 12st to down to 10st 8 in a matter of months.

The bloods came back with high fasting blood glucose (18.5)
hbA1c 111 (12.3%)
High cholesterol (6.6)
High blood pressure.

I invested in a Freestyle Libre Flash Glucose Monitor and watched with morbid fascination as those bowls of Bran flakes caused me to spike up in the teens! Because everything was high it was incredibly overwhelming... so my cousin suggested I try and fix one thing and let everything else stabilsise so I started changing from the high GI foods to the medium and lower ones.

I started in Metformin immiediate release, but moving up to two and three tablets a day caused the usual issues people have, so I pleaded with the doctor to put me on slow release, which he did but it can jam me solid, which can be troublesome. He reluctantly signed a certificate for me to have the Libre and spare sensors in my laptop bag as I was criss-crossing the US, indicating that now I was on metformin I didn't need to monitor my BG (what?!!!!) and talking about still more tablets. Just no. Surely the object is to take ownership and responsibility for making lifestyle changes to manage the condition?