Diabetes Review, Ozempic, and BG Meters

Lucyr

Relationship to Diabetes
Other Type
Had my 6 month review today. To be honest it didnt feel like it went all that well, but i did start off in a bit of a bad mood. I was expecting a video call with my usual doctor, and it ended up being a phone call with a doctor i didnt know, and i'm not that good at unexpected change.

We discussed Ozempic and my feelings of it being a waste of money, as i don't find it gives any benefits. After a bit of discussion, i did agree to try the higher dose of 1.0 for six months, nothing to lose by giving it a go and all that. Also said i'd try and make time to go back to swimming, and do some days working in the office (only had my first day back in the office this week), as i get more steps in naturally then.

The other thing i mentioned, is that my Accu Chek Expert meter is dying, and it's difficult not having a spare meter as no other meters take the same strips. She is going to ask my GP to provide a new meter when writing to them, i suspect that this will be one of the new meters with the cheaper strips. I've always used a big brand meter such as contour/accuchek so i'm a bit nervous about this, are the cheaper strip meters as accurate? Do any of them connect to an app for bolus advice? It was the wavesense jazz my GP was offering last time they tried to change me over, if anyone knows about that meter.

I've always used a big brand meter such as contour/accuchek so i'm a bit nervous about this, are the cheaper strip meters as accurate?
I'm sure they vary a bit, but there's a standard they must all meet so you can expect it to be good enough.

Can you not email/ring the meter company who will be more than happy to supply a replacement meter free of charge.

Can you not email/ring the meter company who will be more than happy to supply a replacement meter free of charge.
Roche have discontinued the Aviva range of meters xx