Diabetes at work

Status
Not open for further replies.

hellokitty

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hey all,
Just looking for some support and advice really regarding something unpleasant that happened to me yesterday. I work part time as a waitress and yesterday had a ten hour shift. Towards the end of the shift, at around 9:30 pm (I was due to finish at 10pm) I had a hypo. I didn't realise that I was hypo at first for quite a while. We were working in a small team to serve people a set menu, the people were all attending a huge function and basically the job at this point of the night entailed trapsing back and forth to the kitchen and carrying plates of food out to customers. At one point I was carrying out two very heavy plates and got a little bit confused as to which table to take them too so I asked my team leader and she pointed to one and swore at me for not knowing. I apologise that I must mention that filthy language was used as I personally felt disgusted. I then had even more trouble carrying the plates and I wondered to myself - and forgive me if this sounds stupid - am i struggling because these plates are very hot and heavy or because I'm shaking anyway?. I then decided that it would be for the best to go and check my blood sugar, I could not see the team leader and so thought that as my team comprised of six people, it would be for the best to try and go and check quickly and then return. So I went to try and check my blood sugars and went into the toilets so that I could wash my hands before doing so. I was in the public toilets as there are no staff ones and I ended up being very shaky and almost falling over. At this point a very kind member of the public who just so happened to be in the toilets came over to me and asked if I was alright. I managed to tell her that I was diabetic and having a hypo. (I had checked at 2.1 and had a mini can of coke.) At this point my team leader came into the toilet and when she was washing her hands she asked me