Diabetes and working

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bat5

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I’m fairly new to all of this and as a type 1 I‘m doing ok by my own standards. At the end of each day in my head I’m congratulating myself for surviving another day, sometimes comfortably and some days are just damn difficult. I have a job which is really active and I’m often burning BG quickly due to the demands. It got me thinking how does everybody else cope who are seasoned type 1’s with demanding jobs.
Any stories, advice or tips would be interesting to hear about.
Thanks

We trained our diabetes to fit in with our lifestyle. Or at least, I did. Took me a decade or two but Rome wasn't built in a day.

I’m fairly new to all of this and as a type 1 I‘m doing ok by my own standards. At the end of each day in my head I’m congratulating myself for surviving another day, sometimes comfortably and some days are just damn difficult. I have a job which is really active and I’m often burning BG quickly due to the demands. It got me thinking how does everybody else cope who are seasoned type 1’s with demanding jobs.
Any stories, advice or tips would be interesting to hear about.
Thanks
Hi,

When you say demanding job, I take it you mean physically demanding?

I'd imagine the greatest challenge trying to manage type 1 diabetes is the 5 days (I assume) on and 2 days off is that physical work is notorious for effecting basal needs due to increased sensitivity. This will likely mean a reduced basal need on the days not working if resting in between physical days.

I'd also assume one who does lots of physical activity requires less basal overall and less bolus for meals, if in fact any bolus is required for some meals.