Diabetes and Work

Status
Not open for further replies.

Duane Charles

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
He/Him
I’m a newbie and have posted an introduction elsewhere. As I’ve said I have recently been diagnosed with type 2 and whilst I understand about eating regularly and taking my medication with something food. It is somewhat difficult as I work in the fast food industry, therefore taking breaks can be difficult and I don’t want to be eating when I get home as this is usually after midnight. Just wondering what others do?
It has been pointed out to me by my manager that other members of staff have commented on mood swings. What sort of workplace support is there? How do I get get them to understand what I’m going through as a newly diagnosed diabetic?

Last edited:
How regularly and what you eat will depend on the medication you take as it may be important that you take that at particularly times with food.
However as you have had pancreatitis then that may indicate that you may not be a straightforward Type 2 and therefore the medications you have been given may not be appropriate as those with pancreas issues are Type 3c and would often be treated as Type 1 thus needing insulin, you should bear this in mind if your current treatment does not work in managing your blood glucose levels.
Both medication and diet are important if it is certain you are Type 2 as is staying hydrated.
Are you testing your blood glucose with a home monitor.

Thank you @Leadinglights, I have 2 monitors but have been told by my Diabetic Nurse the medication (Metformin and Alogliptin) don’t cause hypos and therefore don’t need to monitor. That said I have been keeping an eye on my levels.
I do my best to keep hydrated but over many years (probably 30) my fluid intake has dwindled.