Status
Not open for further replies.

Jas_99

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
She/Her
Hi guys,
I’m newly diagnosed type 1 and figuring out which CGM will be best for me. Wondering if anyone has experience on which CGM is better the Dexcom one or Libre 2?
Thanks!!!

Wondering if anyone has experience on which CGM is better the Dexcom one or Libre 2?
The answer will be different for every person. I’ve used both and can answer questions but the criteria for ‘best’ will be different for you than for me.

Dexcom you do not need to scan 🙂

Libre works really well for me but I have no experience of the Dexcom.

Why not apply for the free 14 day Freestyle Libre trial and see how it works for you. I know you will have nothing to compare it to other than the occasional finger prick, but it will give you an idea of whether it works well for you or not. The drawback of the Dexcom is that it is not compatible with as many phones as Libre, but the software may be more reliable. I believe some people have commented that the user interface is not as good as the Libre though.
Sometimes it just comes down to body chemistry and the only way to know is to try it. It is however important to understand the limitations of these systems and to know when you need to figer prick to double check the readings they give you. ie. False compression lows during the night from lying on the sensor etc. Many of us also apply each sensor a day before we activate it because sometimes our bodies can have a short term reaction to a foreign body being fired into our tissue and it takes a few hours or more for that reaction to subside and the readings it takes to normalize.