Cruising travel insurance and diabetes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bexlee

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi.

Does anyone have any experience of going on a cruise pre or post covid.

If so who did you get travel insurance with apparently it has to be cruise specific. It’s potentially to Norway.

Do I need to mention diabetes?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

I’ve no experience of using them, but this company seem to have an arrangement with Diabetes UK, so should have knowledge of diabetes? Might be worth including in your range of quotes?

I took out insurance with Allclear for a different sort of holiday recently, and noticed there was a question half way through, 'Are you going on a cruise' so I assume if you say 'Yes' they take you to cruise cover. I think it costs more, because if you’re taken ill or have an accident in the middle of the sea, you have to see the private doctor on board, and may need airlifting off!
I had to answer questions in the Medical Screening section about my diabetes, but it didn’t affect the price.

I had to answer questions in the Medical Screening section about my diabetes, but it didn’t affect the price.
I always find I need to pay a bit extra, but perhaps it's a combination of tachycardia, high blood pressure (controlled), and the high cholesterol (also controlled), and diabetes. But it's always a fairly modest addition so I don't worry about it. And maybe I should look at allclear next time.

I always find I need to pay a bit extra, but perhaps it's a combination of tachycardia, high blood pressure (controlled), and the high cholesterol (also controlled), and diabetes. But it's always a fairly modest addition so I don't worry about it. And maybe I should look at allclear next time.
As soon as I put in my husband's details, (non diabetic, but controlled high BP, and on statins and blood thinner) the price goes up for him.