Confussed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tizzy

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi my name is tina I am a nurse and my first experience of lowblood sugars was 2 years ago I collased in my car whilst driving, stopped breathing ending up on a ventilator, eventually recovered but my blood sugars remain between 1.9 & 3.8 below this I collapse I am tired all the time have to take bloods regular no consultant has been able to say what is the problem which does get me down. My husband often phones 999 during the night as I am having an hypo and he cannot bring me round but my local hospital have given up on me. All I wait for is the day when no one can bring me round. My poor husband is terrified he will wake up one day to find me dead. We have had to research ourselves to find out the problem and my husband has spoken to a man in America by e mail who has the same problem and gave us a bit of advice. I am not classed as diabetic

Hi Tizzy,
Sorry to hear of your dreadful problems.
Just a sugestion, have you been tested for Addison's disease?

Sue

Hi Tizzy

How awful for you. Look at these two webpages :

www.hi-fund.org
www.sur1.org

My daughter is not classic type 1 diabetic either. She was diagnosed at birth with congenital hyperinsulinism which in laymans terms is the opposite of a diabetic. She was producing constant insulin and was 0.3 for 20 hours the day she was born. It is very rare and we ended up living in Gt Ormond St Hospital for 3 months. She had her pancreas removed and she had her first insulin injection at 5 weeks old.

The two websites will tell you more about CHI. It used to be only babies but I now know a few adults (but in the USA) who have been diagnosed with it.